Pandora radio gone wrong

I’m fighting the urge to start a new blog entirely devoted to Pandora Radio and it’s weird song selections.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of typing in an artist I’m in the mood to hear and getting a great playlist, all for free.  But sometimes the songs make no sense.

Today, I’m in the mood to hear romantic Frenchy music, so I typed in Edith Piaf.  And all I get are Edith Piaf songs interspersed with songs from cheesy 80’s rom-coms, like overplayed Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday songs.  I want French songs please!

I need a new source…

My guess is that a lot of people have this issue with Pandora.  That they expect one thing, and get something else entirely.  Or maybe not something drastically different but just not what they had in mind.  Or just the idiosyncrasies of the site in general. For instance, the fact that just about every modern music station I’ve created (Beirut, MGMT, etc) always bring up Radiohead, Spoon and Modest Mouse regularly.  Or that when I put in a female singer, I get a bunch more female singers, whether or not they are in the same style (i.e. Ingrid Michaelson every time I listen to She & Him or Bjork).

So much dissecting could be done!

Leave a Reply

